Friday, May 21, 2010

Aviation Hall of Fame announces presenters for 2010 enshrinement ceremonies

Your Company


Contact:  Ron Kaplan
O: (937) 256-0944 x16
C: (937) 212-8847

Air show legend to present top aerial cinematographer at 2010 Enshrinement ceremonies
Clay Lacy, aerial cinematographer for Top Gun, The Right Stuff, to be introduced by close friend and air show great Bob Hoover

(May 19, 2010 – Dayton, Ohio) Presenters for the National Aviation Hall of Fame's 2010 Enshrinement ceremony include two men who have flown to the moon; a legendary air show performer, and one of Ohio's political native sons.

On July 17, 2010, the National Aviation Hall of Fame will induct its Class of 2010 in black-tie ceremonies at the Dayton Convention Center.

     "This is the Oscar night of aviation," said NAHF Enshrinement Director Ron Kaplan. "Along with the air and space pioneers being enshrined, we have some giants in aviation history lined up to present each honoree."

     Presenting the 2010 Enshrinees are:

  • Navy Capt. Richard "Dick" Gordon, ret., command module pilot of the 1969 Apollo 12 mission, will present 2010 Enshrinee Navy Capt. Alan Bean, ret., lunar module pilot for Apollo 12, commander of Skylab 3, and a noted artist.
  • Bob Hoover, the legendary pilot, air show performer and 1988 Hall of Fame Enshrinee, will introduce 2010 Enshrinee Clay Lacy, a 50,000-plus hour pilot, business aviation icon and aerial cinematographer for such Hollywood productions as Top Gun and The Right Stuff.
  • Clarence "Bud" Brown, businessman, former congressman and gubernatorial candidate in Ohio, will present 2010 Enshrinee Warren Grimes, the "father of aircraft lighting" and noted aviation innovator. Co-accepting on behalf of Grimes, who passed away in 1975, will be his daughter Gloria Grimes Creviston, and his grandson, William G. Creviston.
  • USAF Maj. Gen.William A. Anders, ret., lunar module pilot for Apollo 8, the former CEO of General Dynamics and a 2004 Hall of Fame Enshrinee, will introduce 2010 Enshrinee Noel Wien, an Arctic flight expert who founded Wien Alaska Airlines, one of the earliest airlines in the United States and who has been listed as one of the 10 greatest pilots of all time. Co-accepting on behalf of Wien, who passed away in 1977, will be his sons Noel Merrill Wien and Richard A. Wien.

     In addition to the 2010 Enshrinment ceremonies, the 2010 Milton Caniff "Spirit of Flight" Award will be presented to the 8,000-member-company National Business Aviation Association, the world's foremost organization in representing the interests of business aviation. The award is given each year to a group or organization in recognition of its achievement in advancing aviation.

     The "Spirit of Flight Award" will be bestowed at the NAHF's President's Reception & Dinner at the Hall of Fame's Learning Center and the National Museum of the United States Air Force on July 16, 2010.

    Call 937-256-0944 ext. 10 to obtain advance reservations for the President's Reception & Dinner or the 49th Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony.

No comments: