Tuesday, December 30, 2008


For more information contact: Dick Knapinski, Media and Public Relations (920) 426-6523 dknapinski@eaa.org



EAA AVIATION CENTER, OSHKOSH, Wis. - (Dec. 30, 2008) - Many of the world's top air show performers have already given early confirmations to participate at EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2009, "The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration," on July 27-August 2 at Wittman Regional Airport.

Among the early confirmations are more than a dozen women who will participate in special "Women Fly" air show activities on Friday, July 31, and Sunday, August 2. Other invited performers include those with Canadian ties or aircraft to honor 100 years of aviation in Canada.

In addition, second-generation air show standouts Matt Younkin and Kyle Franklin will be appearing at AirVenture, as well as the Red Bull aerobatic helicopter, which made a spectacular debut at Oshkosh in 2008. Yearly favorites such as Sean D. Tucker, Mike Goulian, the AeroShell Aerobatic Team, and the Warbird Spectaculars will be part of the schedule as well.

"Each of these performers work as a headline act at air shows throughout the country, but they come together at EAA AirVenture to make an all-star roster of the 'best of the best,'" said Tom Poberezny, EAA president and AirVenture chairman, who flew as a member of the renowned Eagles Aerobatic Team. "Air show performers are eager to fly at Oshkosh because it represents a major achievement in their careers, flying in front of the most knowledgeable and appreciative audiences on the air show circuit. Look for even more top performers to be added to the list in early 2009."

The afternoon air show is an anticipated spectacle each day at EAA AirVenture, providing an exciting way to round out to a full day on the Oshkosh flight line. In 2009, the best elements of the daily air show and the "showcase" flying from previous years will be combined to provide several hours of exciting and entertaining aerial entertainment.

Exact daily performance schedules will be finalized in the weeks prior to EAA AirVenture and will be announced through the event's extensive website at

"Each afternoon's showcase and air show create a daily attraction that simply cannot be seen anywhere else but EAA AirVenture," Poberezny said. "Oshkosh is the place where the airplanes, people and innovations come together each year in aviation's family reunion."

EAA AIRVENTURE OSHKOSH is The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration and EAA's yearly membership convention. Additional EAA AirVenture information, including advance ticket purchase, is available online at
www.airventure.org. EAA members receive lowest prices on admission rates. For more information on EAA and its programs, call 1-800-JOIN-EAA (1-800-564-6322) or visit www.eaa.org.

PERFORMERS CONFIRMED FOR EAA AIRVENTURE 2009 (as of 12/30/2008 - more will be added and the list is subject to change without notice)

Chuck Aaron / Red Bull Helicopter
AeroShell Team / T-6s
Melissa Andrzejewski / Edge
Herb Baker / T-28
Bob Carlton / Jet Sailplane
Matt Chapman / CAP 231
Chandy Clanton / Edge 540
Julie Clark / T-34
Collaborators / Modified Pitts, Edge 540, Extras
Susan Dacy / Stearman
Dave Dacy/Tony Kazian / Stearman Wingwalking
Kyle Franklin / Waco, Wingwalking act
Debbie Gary / Marchetti
Mike Goulian / Extra
Bud & Ross Granley / Yaks
Ed Hamill / Pitts
John Klatt / Stauduacher
Greg Koontz / Decathlon
Liberty Parachute Team / Skydiving
Jill Long / Pitts
Misty Blues / Skydiving
Steve Oliver / Chipmunk
Steve/Susan Oliver / Skywriting
Jim Peitz / Bonanza
Greg Poe / MX-2
Debbie Rihn-Harvey / CAP, Pitts
Gene Soucy / Showcat
Soucy/Teresa Stokes / Wingwalking
Bill Stein / Edge
Sean Tucker / Modified Pitts
Patty Wagstaff / Extra
Warbirds of America / Warbirds
Matt Younkin / Twin Beech

No comments: