Tuesday, September 20, 2011

National Aviation Heritage Invitational Announces 2011 Awards to Restored Aircraft

National Aviation Hall of Fame Enshrinees joined presenting sponsor Rolls-Royce North America, Inc. in awarding the Rolls-Royce Aviation Heritage trophy to the:

1911 Bleriot X1 owned by CC Air Corporation of Port Hueneme, California.

Winners in other categories are:
•    Antique Category (Orville and Wilbur Wright Trophy): 
   1929 Command Aire 5C-3, owned by Bob Juranich of Sitka, Alaska.
•    Classic Category (Paul E. Garber Trophy): 
   1954 Cessna 170B owned by Bruce Rhymes of Susanville, California.
•    Warbird Category (Henry ‘Hap’ Arnold Trophy): 
   1941 Curtiss P-40 Tomahawk, owned by Rod Lewis of San Antonio, Texas.
•    Large Aircraft (Howard Hughes Trophy): 
   1947 Grumman Mallard G-73, owned by Steve Hamilton of Carson City, Nevada.
•    National Aviation Hall of Fame People’s Choice:
   1965 Bell UH-1H Huey owned by-25th Infantry Division Huey LLC from Bend, Oregon.

Assisting in the trophy presentations to the winning owners were National Aviation Hall of Fame Enshrinees Dick Rutan and Clarence ‘Bud’ Anderson. Joining them were Robert Sciabica, Rolls-Royce North America ;Ken Perich, Executive Director of the National Aviation Heritage Invitational; and Ron Kaplan, Enshrinement  Director of the National Aviation Hall of Fame.

The Heritage is held in conjunction with the Reno National Championship Air Races and celebrates aviation treasures. This endeavor is a joint effort under the auspices of Rolls-Royce North America Inc., the National Aviation Hall of Fame, and the Reno Air Racing Foundation, with support from the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum, Air Transport World, International Aero Engines, PilotMAG, Airmail Greetings, Air and Space Smithsonian Magazine, Perform Air, LiveAirShowTV and The Perich Group.

The National Aviation Heritage Invitational encourages preservation of aviation history through the restoration of aircraft to original flying condition. The Invitational was founded in 1998. A five-member panel, including representatives of the National Air and Space Museum, judges each aircraft on its technical merit and how well it represents the aircraft early in its career. Authenticity to the original manufacturer’s condition is the “gold standard” for each plane.

More information can be found at www.heritagetrophy.org

No comments: