Friday, June 10, 2011

National Aviation Hall of Fame 50th Annual Enshrinement

National Aviation Hall of Fame 50th Annual Enshrinement Night Attracting “Who’s Who” of Air and Space Legends

Astronauts, military heroes, industry leaders and aviation buffs to descend on Dayton July 16th to celebrate four pioneering enshrinees into Hall

(Dayton, Ohio – June 9, 2011) The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) today officially announced the participants taking in part in the 50th Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony, to be held at the Dayton Convention Center on Saturday, July 16th. The Master of Ceremonies will be retired Air Force Colonel Thomas N. Moe, a former fighter pilot and Vietnam POW who currently serves as Director of Veterans Services for the State of Ohio.

Colonel Moe will lead what’s widely known as “America’s Oscar Night of Aviation” before an expected audience of nearly 800 aerospace industry executives, armed forces leadership, government representatives, corporate sponsors, aviation scholars and enthusiasts from across the U.S. Tickets to the black-tie event are available by advance reservation from the Congressionally-chartered non-profit NAHF, with proceeds benefiting its public Learning Center in Dayton and youth outreach programs.

The Enshrinee Class of 2011 and their personally selected ceremony presenters are:
The late Capt. Iven Kincheloe, USAF – Korean War jet ace and record-setting test pilot hailed as “The First Man in Space.” Presenting will be 1979 Enshrinee and former astronaut, Neil Armstrong. Accepting will be Capt. Kincheloe’s widow, Mrs. Dorothy Kincheloe.

Col. Charles E. McGee, USAF (Ret) – WWII Tuskegee Airman and veteran of 409 fighter combat missions flown throughout three wars. Presenting will be 1982 Enshrinee and former astronaut, Frank Borman. Accepting will be Col. McGee.

Dr. S. Harry Robertson – Engineer and inventor of crashworthy helicopter fuel systems, and a pioneer of crash investigation and aerospace safety. Presenting will be former Army Vice Chief of Staff, General Richard Cody (Ret.). Accepting will be Dr. Robertson.

The late General Thomas D. White, USAF – Former USAF Chief of Staff and architect of integrating space technology into our modern air defense structure. The word “aerospace” was coined under his watch. Presenter: Secretary of the Air Force, Michael B. Donley. Accepting will be Rebecca White McCoy, daughter of Gen. White.
Upon their induction next month, the names of Kincheloe, McGee, Robertson and White will join those of the 207 legends of flight previously so honored by the National Aviation Hall of Fame, including the very first two enshrinees, Orville and Wilbur Wright.

“How fitting that the Birthplace of Aviation – Dayton, Ohio – and the Hall of Fame again play host to a ‘who’s who’ of aviation, past and present, to celebrate alongside so many of us who benefit from our enshrinees’ achievements today” said Ron Kaplan, NAHF Enshrinement Director.

“We are delighted to publicly honor these four very special legends of flight into the Hall. Their sacrifice, vision, and contributions to air and space are exemplary,” Kaplan said, adding, “Each one has devoted their unique life’s calling to our collective safety, well-being, and freedom. The National Aviation Hall of Fame looks forward to spotlighting their inspirational legacies, adding them to the others we use to launch the imaginations of future innovators and pioneers.”

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Its mission is to honor America’s outstanding air and space pioneers, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring free admission to the public, interactive exhibits, youth education programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, national merit awards, and other public outreach programs.

Advance reservations for the NAHF’s 50th Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony on July 16, 2011, may be placed by calling 937-256-0944 ext.10. Seats are $150 per person and a portion of each seat purchased is deductible as allowed by law. Seats to the 2011 President’s Reception and Dinner, held Friday, July 15, are similarly available, as are sponsorship opportunities at both events. Deadline for all reservations is July 1. For more information visit the NAHF website at


No comments: